top of page
Search

Josh's War Journal - Weeks #17-19

Of Changing Relationships

 

Week #17

Previously on “Josh’s War Journal”…

After 76 days of protecting my city in the IDF reserves, I joined the Border Police’s emergency response team. The main relationship difference (#1) is that while doing reserve duty I was bound to the city 24/7, but now I am free to lead a regular civilian life while volunteering as a first responder, as needed, in the city.

Our team went to the shooting range to calibrate our weapons.

Relationship difference #2 - before October vs. now: ammunition is at a premium. We still shoot for practice, but there are no bullets to spare.

Relationship difference #3 - us vs. our enemies: if an animal enters our range, we shout "Cease fire!" Our enemies prefer to practice on live targets… animal or other.

Relationship difference #4 – Israel vs. the USA: A mission participant asked me if I own my automatic rifle (as many people in the USA own one or many). So, no. No one in Israel personally owns an AR. All are owned by the security forces (IDF/police).

But on another level, I would add, that in the USA people own their guns. In Israel, the gun owns us.

 

Week #18

I had the privilege of guiding another mission – a group of 40 dedicated Jews from Young Israel Century City and Englewood, led by Rabbis Muskin, Goldberg and Kuessous. It was amazing, meaningful, and appreciated as part of the war effort.

As is my blog’s mandate, this is about my experiences, not theirs.

Relationship difference #5 – Shura base October 13 vs. February: my first visit to the IDF Rabbinate base was the first time ever that the IDF opened the base to foreign press. My recollections involve dozens of refrigerated trucks and containers, hundreds of corpses, thousands of bags with body parts, chaos, and most memorable, the stench. This visit was sterile. Quiet. Organized.

However, this time around, we were able to see the “Torah Room.” Hundreds of Torah scrolls that have been donated to the IDF. These scrolls are send to the hundreds of impromptu army bases, and they accompany our troops into battle.

Our rabbinic sources compare the human body to the Torah’s parchment, and the human soul to its spiritual essence. My relationship with Shura changed from racks and stacks of body bags, to racks and stacks of Torah scrolls. Both holy. Similar and yet…

Some of the IDF’s scrolls are Holocaust survivors. Sometimes, a community’s sole survivor. How fitting, that an Israeli community with no Torah scroll should benefit from a Torah scroll with no community…

 

Relationship difference #6 – at Tel HaShomer rehab center:

Helen Keller said, “I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet.”

I too need a pair of new “tactical boots.” Then I went (again) to Tel HaShomer...

In these wards, we indeed met men, young men, with no feet. No legs. Less arms than the average person.

And I cried.

But then I noted that although these warriors were missing limbs, they all had hearts of lions. They may have had less-than-average body parts, but they had higher-than-average souls.

And then I smiled.

 

Week #19

 

Finally.

I stand under the Hupa with my daughter Moriya and her groom, Akiva.

Relationship difference #7 – c’mon… this is too easy.

A wedding and a war.

Their wedding date was set for November 9th. Then October 7th happened. Then Akiva demanded to be reassigned to his battalion going into battle in Gaza (even though he, an officer, would only be in the role of a soldier).

Einstein said, “If you are kissing a girl while driving, you are not doing one of them properly.” I agree. And so did Akiva. Realizing it impossible to go into battle and be a good newly-minted husband, the couple decided to postpone. Then Akiva received a position as a platoon commander. He was incommunicado.

With a Sunday night wedding, we were hoping that Akiva would get out at least before Sunday afternoon! And when I went to bed Thursday night, that is what we anticipated.

However, Hashem works in wondrous ways. Not only did he get out on Friday, 48 hours before the wedding, but the entire battalion exited as well. Only then did it occur to me. My daughter’s dedicated groom would have been physically present at the wedding, but with his charges in Gaza, his soul would have been split. With his entire unit’s unexpected exit, he was at his own wedding, body, soul, and mind.

My daughter and her husband have been exemplary models of Emunah – faith, dedication, and devotion, to one another and their ideals.

#8 Can someone please tell me… when did my relationship with the younger generation flip, to the degree that I am learning so much from them?!

But yes, the main relationship difference here is that last week I had no son-in-law. And now “I DO!” (Note the clever play on words…) 😉

 

Relationship difference #9 - house vs. home:

“A house is made of stones and beams. A home is made of hopes and dreams.”


Last week the mission visited Kibbutz Beeri and Moshav Netiv HaAsarah. We witnessed the destruction of their houses and the demolition of their homes.

This week, the young couple provided the best Jewish response to those who wish us gone.

They took a pledge to build a bayit neeman – a worthy Jewish home, in a bayit neeman – a worthy Jewish house, in Yisrael – the people of Israel, in Yisrael – the land of Israel!


My dearest readers: May we merit to celebrate many more occasions together, and may our relationships ever grow stronger!

Love and blessings,



pJosh

130 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page