top of page
Search

Josh's War Journal - Week #8

Shalom all!

This past week was pretty uneventful in “Josh’s War.” I am still serving in uniform protecting my city and its institutions. A few weeks ago some of you asked me to share my story of 2006, and so here it is – with additions - to make it even more relevant to 2023.


Prologue one:

The year: 67 CE.

The place: Jewish village of Gamla, Golan Heights.

One of the first Jewish communities to fall to the Romans in the Great Revolt was Gamla. According to the historian and commander of the resistance in Gamla - Josephus Flavius - about 9000 Jews, from Gamla and the surrounding area, lost their lives in this picturesque village. For many centuries, the site was lost. Only in 1967, right after the Six-Day War - exactly 1900 years after the fall - a young archeologist, Yitzchaki Gal, was doing a topical survey of the area when he noticed a ridge resembling a camel’s hump. Remembering Josephus’ description as to why the village was thus named (Gamla=Camel), he summoned senior archeologist Shmaryahu Gutman to the site. During the excavations, Gutman could not help but to notice the material wealth of the people and came to the conclusion that the people of Gamla were fighting for their own territory. Towards the excavation’s end, he found a coin minted in Gamla during the siege, inscribed “For the redemption of Jerusalem the Holy” – "לגאולת ירושלים הקדושה".

Gutman recalls with tearing eyes (seen in the Golan Museum video) how he begged forgiveness from the ancient men and women of Gamla, as he realized that is was not Gamla they were fighting for, but rather it was for Jerusalem and all that it symbolized – the temple, Jewish freedom, Am Yisrael. They were not fighting for materialistic values, but rather for values of independence, unity and nationhood. They were fighting for something much larger than themselves or their local community. This was the fight of Am Yisrael in Eretz Yisrael.


Prologue two:

I met Chana in 1997. By then, I had completed my compulsory army service and was on the verge of a 20-year stint in the reserves. When we decided to get engaged I told her that I didn’t know where our lives would exactly take us in the future, but that I did know that if I were ever to receive an emergency call-up notice from the army, no matter where we were in life, geographically or otherwise, I would have to answer the call. And although soldiers like to think of themselves as immortal or immune, there are too many cemeteries that prove a contrary point. And so, when I do go off to fight, although I plan on coming home, there is no way for me to guarantee it. I also explained that as deep as my love may be for her, my commitment to the IDF, the country, state, and people, and the commitment to my fellow brothers-in-arms would take precedence.

The story of summer 2006:

In the summer of 2006 the Evenchen family was scheduled to visit Saba and Savta Marwick in Silver Spring. However, in the middle of July, the Second Lebanon War broke out, putting a cloud of uncertainty on our travel plans. Was I going to be called up with thousands of other reservists or not? I spoke with my platoon commander, Uzi, who told me two things: 1. He didn’t know if we were going to be called up. 2. If I had the tickets already, by law, I had permission to leave, and I should do just that. Naturally, I thanked him but also informed him that there was no way that our unit would be called up, my buddies would be in the thick of it, and I would be at the poolside. Nonetheless, the war continued, and no call-up was issued.

We had a noon flight on Sunday morning, August 6th, and we packed our suitcases early on Friday. The kids went to bed Saturday night with the anticipation of waking up and traveling the next morning. I went to bed just before midnight. A few minutes later I was awakened by an automated call stating “if. you are. Josh. Even. chen. press one”. Although tempted to press two, I did indeed press one, whereupon I was instructed to report for service the next morning.

The next morning was the easiest packing experience ever, as I just simply removed my items from my suitcase, and put them in my army bag instead. The kids were disappointed, and Chana was concerned, but all took the change of plans relatively well.

After a day of getting ready, we drove our tanks across the Golan to a place called kubet kara – the vultures’ peak – in the southern Golan. There we spent a rather quiet two weeks of the war, silently facing the Syrians, lest they should decide to get involved. On the last Monday of the war, we were informed that the Syrians were in a state of readiness, even more than they were on the eve of the Yom Kippur war. We were told not to use our cell phones as the Syrians were monitoring our calls. I went to bed with an uneasy feeling of quiet before a storm. I spent all my regular army days on the Golan to hold off the possible attack from the Syrians until the reserves could replace us and save whoever was left. Suddenly, as a reservist, I found myself back in my same shoes… or army boots. Before I retired for the night I felt that as this was probably as close as I ever was to an unfortunate and imminent personal demise, I should at least send word to Chana. I wanted to communicate that I had no regrets, only pride in making the correct choice. And so, I sent a cryptic text message that contained only three words. The three words were not “I love you”, but rather something that I felt much more important to convey. They were: "לגאולת ירושלים הקדושה". If I were not to survive this ordeal, I wanted Chana to know, that just as our ancestors 1900 years ago, I was not fighting for material gains, nor pride or glory. I was fighting for the right of the Jewish people to live a full and independent life in the land of Israel. I was fighting for a better place for our kids. I was fighting for Holy Jerusalem and all that it stands for.

It is interesting to note that although I knew the story of Gamla and where Gamla is located, I was not aware at the time just how close I was (although I should’ve realized). Gamla is renowned for being the largest vulture nesting site in the area. Our location during the war at the “vultures’ peak” is less than a mile away from Gamla itself. I do not doubt that either subconsciously or spiritually, the ancient people of Gamla had an impact on me that night.

For me, this story is like a great bottle of wine. You want to share it, not with everyone, but only with people who will truly appreciate it

On occasion, I share this story with people I guide in the Golan Heights. I do not tell it to make myself seem like a hero, as I am not. But rather I tell it as a way for tourists to have a deeper understanding of the psyche of the Israeli people and to appreciate the dedication of a people who live in a society where one minute you are living your normal civilian life and the next you are called up as a reservist and are holding the fort on one of our many borders. It provides a profound insight into the reality of Israel, the nation, and its people, today.


Epilogues of 2023:

I was a young soldier back in 1991. Now I am the old soldier who – as per the catchphrase - refuses to die… but simply fades away.

So here I want to share with you, dear readers, two of today’s young soldiers.


The army is a very challenging experience. From my first day in 1991 I set two rules for myself.

1. The only thing guaranteed is that nothing is guaranteed… and even that is not guaranteed.

2. Where you end up is of little consequence. Whatever position or job you end up with – it is your responsibility to accomplish the task to the best of your abilities with the tools at hand.


These two principles have numerous applications. I have condensed them into a speech/conversation that I made a point of having with my sons before they drafted. As many of their friends’ families made Aliya (and their fathers lack the inside understanding of the IDF) I also had this same conversation with many other pre-draftees.

This past Shabbat, I had the opportunity to have this conversation yet again. My 18-year-old son’s friend’s draft date was brought forward from March 2024 to next week. His concern: that he may be allocated to a unit that is too demanding? No. He wants to achieve the highest and is concerned he may end up in something not demanding enough! Such energy! Such devotion!


But here’s an insight. I’ve met soldiers (elite and others) from other countries. A commonality: bravado. I’m not judgmental about this. It is simply a fact that goes with the territory.

Israeli soldiers (elite and others) share a different characteristic: humility. You may be a commando, but without the grunts, you would not get very far. A pilot can only be as good as the maintenance crew.

Humility is the result of deeply recognizing that we are all nuts, bolts, and parts of a great mechanism.

When you put these attributes together, you realize the winning recipe: aim high and do your best… regardless of where you are. That’s how an army wins. Humility, ironically, is not the opposite of greatness… it is the path to achieve it.


The last item is about my future-son-in-law: Akiva.

Akiva became an infantry officer this past summer. To my daughter’s (his fiancé) glee, he received a training (not active combat) position. When the war broke out his commanders told him to continue in his position. But he wouldn’t have it. He would rather fight with his battalion as a non-commanding soldier than train others as an officer.

Enacting an ancient Jewish concept regarding who goes to war – “Even a groom from his Huppah” – the couple decided to postpone their wedding! Unbelievable!

They say that behind every strong general is an even stronger general’s wife. I can tell you this is true for junior officers as well. Without my daughter’s support, Akiva would not be able to do what he is doing. Just as I would not have been able to do what I did (and do) without the support of my wife (and family).

In the circle of my life (and the circle of this blog) it would appear that we are back where we started: fighting for values of independence, unity, and nationhood. Fighting for something much larger than ourselves. Fighting for Am Yisrael and Eretz Yisrael!

לגאולת ירושלים הקדושה!!

For the redemption of Holy Jerusalem!!!



145 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page